Archive | April 2014

DEA Prescription Drug Take-Back Day Collection Site Locator Now Available

April 9, 2014 5:30 PM

Written by: NABP National Association of  Boards of Pharmacy

Now available online, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day collection site locator allows consumers to search for a nearby location to dispose of unneeded medications on Saturday, April 26, 2014. On this day, from 10 am to 2 pm, thousands of DEA-coordinated collection sites will be available across the country, and consumers are encouraged to use this opportunity to safely and legally dispose of any unneeded pills, including prescription pain pills and other controlled substance medications, as these pills can only be accepted for disposal when law enforcement is present.

DEA reminds consumers that the take-back service is free and anonymous, with no questions asked. Sites will accept tablets, capsules, and all other solid dosage forms of unwanted medication. Personal information may be blacked out on prescription bottles, or medications may be emptied from the bottles into the bins provided at the events. Check the DEA collection site locator often, as new locations will be added until April 26, 2014.

Consumers have disposed of over 3.4 million pounds of unwanted medication during previous DEA National Prescription Drug Take-Back Days. During the seventh DEA take-back event on October 26, 2013, more than 5,500 locations provided take-back services across all 50 states and US territories. More information and a link to the DEA Take-Back Day collection site locator is available on theAWARxE® website.

Things My Mother Never Told Me About Pharmacy

Pharmacist-Statesman Returns to UH April 9

The Honorable Charles L. “Chuck” Hopson, R.Ph., to Present 2014 Phi Lambda Sigma James McCarty Leadership Lecture

The Honorable Charles L. “Chuck” Hopson, R.Ph., will serve as the 2014 Phi Lambda Sigma James T. McCarty Leadership Lecturer on Wednesday, April 9, at the University of Houston. Hopson’s lecture, entitled “Things My Mother Never Told Me About Pharmacy,” will be 4-5:30 p.m. in the Ballroom 210 in the newly renovated University Center.

From 2000 to 2012, Hopson was a member of the Texas House of Representatives serving District 11 in East Texas. During his tenure, Hopson served as Chairman of the powerful General Investigating and Ethics Committee, as well as a member of the Public Health Committee and the Pensions, Investments and Financial Services Committee.


A 1965 graduate of UH College of Pharmacy, Hopson owned and operated the independent pharmacy May Drug in his native city of Jacksonville from 1973 to 2011. An active member of the Texas Pharmacy Association and is a past President of the Texas Society of Health-system Pharmacists and the Central East Texas Pharmacy Association.

Before his service in the Texas Legislature, Hopson was active in local government. He was elected to the Jacksonville School Board and the Jacksonville City Council, and was appointed Vice-Chair of the local Planning and Zoning Commission. Chuck also served on the Board of Trustees for Lon Morris College in Jacksonville.

Hopson has been an active member of his community with service on numerous boards and charitable organizations, including Austin Bank, the Nan Travis Hospital Foundation, and the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce. Chuck has also served First United Methodist Church of Jacksonville as a Sunday school teacher.

Hopson continues to work in the legislative arena as owner of Hopson Consulting Group. He also serves on the UHCOP Dean’s Advisory Council.

Chuck and his wife Billie, a former educator and school counselor for more than thirty years, have three grown children and seven grandchildren.

Hopson’s community, political and professional service has been recognized by numerous organizations, including the UHCOP Distinguished Alumnus Award (2004) and the UHCOP Dean’s Special Recognition Award (2012) and serving as the UHCOP Class of 2007 Commencement Speaker.

His many other accolades include Business Man of the Year by the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce (1999); Best Elected Official by the Readers of the Jacksonville Daily Progress (2002); Citizen of the Year by the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce (2002); Texas Association of Realtors’ Honor Roll (2001 and 2003); Lonestar Statesman Award from the Texans for Lawsuit Reform (2004); and Award of Recognition for
Continued Commitment to Law Enforcement by the Jacksonville Fraternal Order of Police Lodge No. 56 (2004).